DO YOU WANT TO BE GOOD OR DO YOU WANT TO BE GREAT!

Standard

I recently re-opened my business bible “Success Principles” by Jack Canfield auther of Chicken Soul for the Soul.  I refer to this book OFTEN.  I’ve read this book several times and at this point I open it to any random page and begin reading there. Like a bible it often opens up to a page that is completely relevant to my life.

The roulette ball landed on a chapter called “Say No to the Good So that you Can Say Yes to the Great.”  The chapter opens with a quote from Jim Collins (author of Good to Great) “Good is the enemy of great.”  The message of this chapter is prioritization.  Sometimes we fill our lives with so many things that are merely “good” goals or “good” activities or “good” people – and it leaves a person with no time to really invest in something that is “GREAT.”  I’ve been a “Yes” girl all my life. Not just because I like saying yes to please other people; also I enjoy so many things in life that when an opportunity comes my way it seems “good” at the time.

I’ve had to take some steps backward so that I can evenly examine a situation and opportunity to assess what’s best for me.  I used to be a “YES” girl but no longer.  I just don’t have enough time in a day and I find that I’ve been way happier and have achieved greater success in my life mentally and physically when I started “loving myself” and taking care of “myself” which meant saying “no” at times.

This year I’ve truly examined where and with who I spend my time.  So much of my life is inside of social settings that when I’m not inside of venues or producing – I really enjoy my calm surroundings.  Walking on the beach, listening to the ocean, making jewelry, reading, exercising, engaging in good conversation, seeing old friends … spending a ton of time by myself. Truly it’s fed my spirit and I thank god for waking up and feeling the way I do INSIDE.

I’m learning to prioritize my time.  It’s paying off!  I’m a work in progress and I embrace the lesson I’m learning.   I live in GREATNESS & ABUNDANCE!

Check out Success Principles:
http://www.amazon.com/Success-Principles-TM-Where-Want/dp/0060594896/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1271747348&sr=8-1

One response »

Leave a Reply

